Like I promise … COCONUT MILK

                                                 

                                              coconutmilk

 

Like I promise in my first post (coconut cookies)

 

Here is the lady of the night: COCONUT MILK.

 

I must said that I’m not a big fan of coconut but I don’t know why I’m loving this milk. It’s so fresh that  you can almost feel the caribbean weather and the fresh coconuts.

So… How to do it?? Pretty easyyyyyyy 

1 or 2 cups of dry coconut, whatever you like.

3 cups of boiling water

2 cups of cold water

 

That’s it!!! See? Easy!

 We just put the dry coconut into the blender, add 1 cup of boiling water and we mix it for a few minutes. Then add the second cup of boiling water and mix it again, then the third and final cup. Make sure you mix it well. After that you will add the 2 cups or glasses of cold water and what? Yes, mix it again!!!!.. This is… full power! A few minutes… and Voilaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! You have your homemade coconut milk!!!!!

You have to strain it of course with a CLEAN kitchen towel or a special bag you have. I used a linen fabric I bought downtown, white color. BE CAREFUL! Since the milk is HOT you will burn a little bit your hands while you strain it, but it’s nothing painfull. So there we have it: Fresh Veggie Milk on one side and on the other side we have the dry coconut which can be used to make cookies or transform into coconut flour.

Ps: I have read several blogs that said coconut cream or butter or oil or milk is great for the hair too. Never tried it yet thou. If anyone who read this have tried it please comment 🙂 Thank you

 

I hope you enjoy it, I really do. I make my green juices with it and they taste amazing!!!

Pizza!!!

Lately I’ve been having this cravings for homemade fresh pizza!!! And I’m not even pregnant so my future doesn’t look good. Because if i’m food crazy without having a human being inside I can’t even imagine what it would be when I do have it. (Whale all the way)

So, today I made pizza! Not only one but a few. Almost 10. And then put them into the fridge, so every time I’m craving for it I just go to the kitchen and Voila!!! Must said that I make tons os tomatoe italian sauce and also put it into the fridge… so when I want to eat some quick fast yummy pizza I have all the ingredients there. REMEMBER: You must DO your own fresh tomatoe sauce and not BUY one, because although it’s yummy the not fresh one has lots of chemicals. So since our bodies are our temples or like I said, our SHIP in this trip. Let’s take care of it.

First of all I will write down my grandma recipe for PIZZA: It’s very simple and it’s always good to knead.

You will need:

-500 cc or ml of warm water. (REMEMBER: When we said warm it’s a little bit of warm. NOT BOILED water or very hot either. We just want to be a little bit or warm, it’s like putting a finger and it’s normal temperature. Otherwise it won’t work!)

-Olive oil – You can use the quantity you want. (Beware! If you don’t like the taste of olive oil you can change it to a more neutral one)

-35 oz or 1 KG or white Flour

-4 grs or 0,15 oz of fresh Yeast

-1 oz of salt

Now…. hands on deck people…. let’s start making this happen:

1)First of ALL: In a bowl we mix the flour with the salt. REMEMBER THIS: YEAST AND SALT are enemies. So if you mix it together, ARMAGEDON WILL HAPPEN, because your dough will not rise AT ALL. So, we mix the flour and salt and let them be friends.

2)In another small bowl we have to put the yeast with a little bit of olive oil and mix it with a fork. (Why? So the yeast starts to break and disolve. We left it there for about 10 minutes. After that time the yeast will start to grow so we can now use it)

3)In the first bowl, where flour and salt are resting, we make a hole in the middle with our hands and put the yeast with olive oil. Then slowly add the water and start to mix it. We can do it with our hands or if you have a favorite spoon or kitchen tool you can use it too. Remember the WORLD IS YOURS.

4)After we mixed it very very WELL and all the ingredients are together we will have the result: which is: DOUGH. (If the dough needs a little bit more of flour you can add it, BUT DO NOT add too much otherwise it will kill it)

5)The hard part? After that, we have to let it rise for AT LEAST 6 hours in a warm place. Try to put the bowl over a tray over the oven or near a heater. Of course you have to cover it with a kitchen towel so you can «catch» the heat inside of it.

6) After that time we have to do the tinny rolls or balls of dough. And put it over a tray and let them rise again for about 2 – 3 hours. (I know this sounds so boring, but the secret of a great pizza or bread, it’s the rise process)

7)Finally, we take one roll and stretch it over the tray we will use. Then we put some tomatoe sauce in it, doind little circles in the pizza, so every inch of it is full of sauce. After that we add the cheese and …………… into the oven for about 15 minutes (this depends of your oven so … be careful)

Hope to enjoy it, 🙂

Ji

fotoparablog

Homemade Coconut cookies

Hi there!

Since I’m a newbie on the blogger thing I’m very excited to present you my awesome coconut cookies!!!

I have to say that the coconut that I used to make them is the «result» or what was left after I made fresh homemade Coconut Milk. I have to make a stop here and let you know: If you haven’t try the «veggie milks» (this means that the cow is not involve in it) you must! The phrase «the world is yours» sum up this process. The most amazing thing about the «veggie milks» (that’s how I called it) it’s that you can do a LOT of things with the rest of it. For example: When you do almond milk, which is so GOOD, after you strain it, you have the liquid which of course goes to a bottle and to the fridge. And the rest of it, which later is a perfectly flour. And what can you do with Almond flour? The perfect and gorgeous Macaroons!!! (One of my guilty pleasures!)

So, after talking about veggie milks, I’m back to my roots and those are my incredible COCONUT COOKIES. The result of, like I said, coconut milk.

The process is very easy and what I love of it? It has NO BUTTER in it. ( I try to evoid butter because I have read a lot about the damage to our heart and arterys. I’m not saying I don’t LOVE it or used it when I have to. I’m just saying I try to avoid it when I can.)

                                                   misgalletitas

So here is the recipe:

-2 eggs

-150 grs of sugar – 5,30 oz (I used the normal white one but if you have or want to buy a diferent one, you are more than welcome to do and please take a picture and sent it to me 🙂 ) 

-125 grs or 4,40 oz of dry coconut

-1 cup of white plain flour

 

-Just a little little little bit of salt.

 

How to do this? Very simple guys:

1)On one bowl we mix the sugar with the little bit of salt, then add the 2 eggs, one by one. And we mix it up! 

2)Then we sift the flour, very slowly, and mix. After that we add the dry coconut and once again, mix it. After we mix it well we make tinny medium balls and put them over a tray with parchment paper ( if you want to put a little bit of butter to stick the paper with the tray and prevent to burn be my guest :))

3)Of course the oven have to be already burning at 180 celsius or 365° F. 

4) We let them cook for about 10 minutes or 15 min. After that if everything goes good: Voila! You have your awesome homemade healthy cookies!

I really hope you enjoy this recipe, I know I did.

 

Hugs to everyone who read this!

Ji